Chicken Caesar Wraps | Like A Fly On The Wall

Chicken Caesar Wraps | Like A Fly On The Wall

Welcome to the TLC Book Tours stop for Like A Fly On The Wall by Simone Kelly! I joined this tour really looking forward to reading a novel where the main character reads people's energies and communicates with spirit guides because, although it's not something I mention here on the blog very often, the metaphysical is a regular part of my everyday life (meaning I love meeting characters of this sort).

I'll have to admit that I was slightly disappointed, probably because I really imagined that would be the focus of the story...and it wasn't. Or at least, not enough for me. That being said, I loved both of the main characters, Jacques and Kylie - and most of the supporting characters. I just wanted more of the intuition and communicating with spirits aspect.

And while I thought Jacques back story seemed true to him and that it was written very cleverly, surprising me by the turns it took, Kylie's left me a little uneasy. She had a long, difficult history that included promiscuity and being in a relationship with an abuser since a young age, which didn't seem to affect her current behavior/feelings. However, I'm hoping this becomes a series, so her story can be developed a bit more.

Also a little warning that this novel seems like it would fit perfectly into the romance genre, because there are a looooot of steamy sex scenes. Like a lot. If that's not your bag, this isn't the book for you. It wouldn't be considered a foodie novel, but I did find inspiration on the pages, most inspired by it's settings, Miami (beach eats) and New York (with some Moroccan goodies thrown in).

We picked up some chicken Caesar wraps from the poolside bar and headed straight to the beach. The seagulls playfully made their way close to our chairs, begging for scraps.

This is a Rated-R read that's perfect for the beach or a cuddled up next to a fire (aka, sexy-time read). Fingers crossed that there's a book 2, and that we'll see more of Jacques intuitive counseling played out in it!

Like A Fly On The Wallauthor: Simone Kelly

publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (July 11, 2017)

genre: Literature & Fiction > African American > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Supernatural > Psychics

paperback: 448 pages

"foodie" read: No, but there is a good amount of inspiration on the pages.

opening sentence: You would think that by now I would know how to choose the perfect one.

teaser: From talented debut author Simone Kelly comes this suspenseful novel that crackles with intrigue, sex, and plenty of surprises—perfect for fans of Eric Jerome Dickey and Carl Weber.

Meet Jacques Berradi. Moroccan-born and Manhattan-raised, his genuine, sexy-smooth allure goes hand in hand with a unique gift. Since Jacques was young, he has had the ability to read peoples’ energies, communicate with spirit guides, and even catch glimpses of people’s futures. Now a professional “intuitive counselor,” Jacques’s clients pay him handsomely for his insight. Unfortunately, Jacques’s psychic abilities don’t come with an off switch to tune out the world’s noise, nor do they always provide him with easy answers; recently Jacques has begun having dark, alarming dreams about his beloved father, a Moroccan immigrant who died when he was a boy.

Meet Kylie Collins, an adventurous, Miami twentysomething who is trying to find her footing after being laid off from a cushy music industry job. When a mishap brings them together, Kylie is instantly mesmerized by Jacques’s cool demeanor and intuitive abilities, and he’s captivated by her outgoing charm and breezy good looks. Seeking to learn more about her family history—including the identity of the father she’s never known—Kylie visits Jacques’s office to gain some insight about her future, and about her free-spirited and headstrong Jamaican mother, True.

But on the night that they meet, a rolling blackout cuts off power throughout Miami. Kylie and Jacques, and a few of his clients, head to the only place in the neighborhood with enough light to see: Like a Fly on the Wall Detective Agency. There, Kylie serendipitously lands herself the perfect new job as an apprentice private eye.

As partners, Jacques and Kylie are an unstoppable duo. Can Jacques’s intuition reveal the scandalous history of Kylie’s mother and father? Will Kylie’s newfound detective skills uncover evidence about the death of Jacques’s father? And will the chemistry that charges their friendship bubble over into something much, much hotter…?

about the author: Simone Kelly, CEO of Own Your Power® Communications, Inc., is an author, internet radio host & producer, holistic business, and intuitive life coach. Her previous books include a self-help book on marketing called, Jack of All Trades, Master of None? Her second book is a novel entitled At Second Glance that has set the stage for the smart and sexy Like A Fly on the Wall. It is now part of a two-book deal with William Marrow/Harper Collins and will be released Spring 2017. She currently resides in Hollywood, Florida.

connect with the author: website | facebook | twitter | instagram | youtube

recipe inspired by the book: Chicken Caesar Wraps

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Yield: serves 2-4Author: Heather Schmitt-GonzalezPrint Recipe

Chicken Caesar Wrapsprep time: 10 MINScook time: total time: 10 mins

Ingredients

  • 6 anchovy fillets (preferably packed in oil)
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed or vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons finely grated fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 2-4 large wraps of your choice, recommended Flatout Garden Spinach Wraps
Read the whole recipe on girlichef